The Call


Today I received a random phone call. In fact, it was from someone I did not want to even make a conversation with. The outcome was so predictable. It was from someone I use to consider as a mentor, which I will not say any names. The entire conversation last 00:46 seconds and none of it was relevant. Sometimes I never understand why some people even bother trying to connect with you.

They always want to talk about what happen 5 or 10 years ago, but when you are on to the next phase of your life, there is no room for these “shoulda, coulda, woulda moments”. True Story: The first time I fought black belt was at one of the biggest national tournaments in the country. I placed third beating the #2 fighter in the division; This was a huge accomplishment.  After the division was over several of the top coaches out there said, “you look good out there, keep it up”. Talking about a moment that can never be  replaced. Having friends who are world champions, being on tv, and traveling the world asking you when are you getting out here. There was never a straight response because I wasn’t fortunate with the support they had.  This went on for like 6 – 7 years from people in your circle was either discouraging the idea of going national or they didn’t have the same drive as you.

One person who taught me how to take charge of my life was my younger brother. He never let anyone stop him from achieving his goal. Once he passed a couple years, it shattered every atom of my being. How could I go on with the most supportive person I had is gone. Self reflection told me to look at my brother’s life as a tool to take charge of my own.

I can’t say I dislike or like my former mentor; however, the word I describe them as “Hindrance” from oneself. Hindrance is like a disease which some people have and love to spread to others. Its almost worse than AIDS because they know where you heading while pulling down in the process.

Some love to manipulate the unprecedented minds of individuals so they will not go beyond what they have experience; ironically, these people have killed others just so they can not succeed. Its basically greed fused with manipulation, but we must continue to perfect our craft.

Our passions will be shown throughout communities and  nations, which can inspire others to excel in their crafts as well. Sometimes these people can only be relevant within a short life span. You may never know when the lesson is learned, but you have to read between lines. If  you know you have a gift which is said on numerous occasions, but the MAIN people in your corner is trying to discourage you, its time for you to move on. God will place someone to replace that void in your life. Hopefully this message will help you like someone helped me. In the meantime, you make the call.

Leave a Reply

